Stocks – U.S. Futures Jump as China Manufacturing Sector Rebounds

168

U.S. futures rose on Monday as fresh Chinese data suggested the planet’s second-largest economy is rebounding, easing concern about an international slowdown.

China’s Caixin manufacturing purchasing managers’ index, which gauges private-sector activity, increased quite possibly the most in the month since 2012, as a combined fiscal stimulus measures seemed to take effect.

Dow futures rose 177 points or 0.7% by 6:50 AM ET (10:50 GMT), while S&P 500 futures gained 17 points or 0.6% and tech-heavy Nasdaq 100 futures was up 66 points or 0.9%.

Meanwhile, trade talk progress between your U.S. and China also helped lift sentiment. China says it can extend its suspension of tariffs on U.S.-made autos highlight the opioid fentanyl within a listing of controlled substances, in the fresh indication from the unwillingness of all parties to rush for an escalation from the conflict.

Vice Premier Liu He, China’s trade envoy, is required to resume talks in Washington today.

Semiconductor companies were one of several top gainers in premarket trading, with Advanced Micro Devices Inc (NASDAQ:AMD) up 2.7% and Micron (NASDAQ:MU) gaining 2.5%.

Netflix (NASDAQ:NFLX) rose 1.2%, while Tesla (NASDAQ:TSLA) was up 0.8% and Aurora Cannabis (NYSE:ACB) jumped 3.5%.

Elsewhere, Ryanair (NASDAQ:RYAAY) fell 4.6% as rival Easyjet blamed Brexit for that weak yearly outlook.

On the efficient front, retail sales figures for February come out at 8:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT). Later, the U.S. Institute of Supply Management will release its monthly survey on manufacturing sector activity at 10:00AM ET (14:00 GMT).

In commodities, gold futures fell 0.3% to $1,294.55 a troy ounce, while oil jumped 0.8% with a fresh 2019 most of $60.88. The U.S. dollar index, which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, slipped 0.2% to 96.688.